Valjevo – the beautiful Gradac canyon

On July 22nd, Cookie and I visited a beautiful river near the city of Valjevo in Western Serbia. The nature there was amazing. We parked the car at the Ćelije monastery and went down to the river.

 

IMG_5085

The water is shallow in most places so you can easily walk in the river. Or so I thought. I almost lost one slipper (well, I did lose it, however some fishermen downstream caught it and brought it back to me). The water was c o l d! Seriously, my bones hurt, but later on and after many trips into the river, I got used to it.

As for Cookie – he had a blast! He swam, he fetched the ball (until we lost it, it went downstream really fast), searched for rocks and retrieved sticks. We also had a lovely walk by the river. It was peaceful and beautiful and it’s definitely a place that we will visit again someday.

 

Leave a comment